Daddy, No!

 

Daddy’s home again.

Mommy looks so scared.

I can see it in her eyes,

The fear that’s in her stare.

 

Daddy starts to yell

And mommy walks away.

It’s hard to ignore the smell

That invades our troubled way.

 

“Go upstairs!” mommy yells.

“It’s going to be just fine.”

But I do not believe her,

Because it happens every time.

 

As a worried little girl,

I begin to scream.

“Daddy, please leave mom alone.

Daddy, don’t be mean.”

 

My cries won’t find its way,

To daddy’s sober heart.

So I stand there and I watch,

As daddy tears my mom apart.

 

A blow to mommy’s face.

A grip of mommy’s soul.

The wrath of my father,

When the liquor’s in control.

 

A child’s innocence plagued,

By her daddy’s drunken choices.

Nightmares in my sleep

Of my Daddy’s angry voices.

 

Strength is my mother,

For all that she endured.

No matter what pain daddy caused,

Her love was there to  cure.

4 Comments

  1. This, is so very sad, for a child, to bear witness to a father’s violence toward a mother, and, growing up in a home like that, it must’ve been hard, for you to deal, but, you still grew up, didn’t you? We all learn, to cope with the EVILS in our young childhood lives…I truly hope, that this piece is from inspiration, but, this, is all too real, and it’s still happening, ALL over the world, even in those white-picket-fence places too.

Leave a Reply

